The only tangible work done so far on the Mario Bros. Trailer has been the 3D modeling (I don’t consider scripts tangible since I’d never show them to someone). Here are some work-in-progress pics of my work so far. Most will only be seen for a few seconds (or less) in the trailer, but that’s the nature of trailers, isn’t it?

Thwomp

Thwomp. I intend to make it a little more gritty/realistic, so instead of just a rocky texture, it’ll actually have random, jagged edges.

Star

Power Star! I have a cool effect in mind for the invincible Mario.

Pipe

A strange pipe appears in a utility closet.

Goomba

A lot more to be done on Goomba, but it’s a good start.

Earth

I’ll add clouds and an atmosphere (and, of course, animation) after this. So far, I’ve just gotten the texture applied (courtesy of NASA) and made it so only the water reflects light.

Bullet Bill

Bullet Bill. Easiest one to make, unsurprisingly. I made the eye texture in GIMP.

Bobomb

This was actually not created by me, but rather a guy at Blender-Models.com. Big thanks to him — he’ll be in the credits for sure (though I couldn’t find his name on the download page).

Expect more models and updated versions of these in the near future. Currently in the works: Dark Star, the F.L.U.D.D. device, Bowser, and several more! I’ve been spending a ton of time on this, and it is SO FUN. If you’re interested in 3D modeling, I highly recommend Blender. It’s free, open-source, and very well-supported. Andrew Price’s Blender tutorials at BlenderGuru.com are really great after you’ve played around with it for a bit.

