As I mentioned, there are enough new shows this fall I found interesting that I separated them into two posts. Here are those for CBS, FOX, and a new addition to my recommendations: the CW.

FOX

Enlisted

Three brothers work on a military base. The oldest is a natural-born leader who made a mistake that lands him leading the platoon, and the younger two are recently-enlisted members of the same platoon. The two younger brothers and pretty much everyone else in the platoon are misfits and constantly frustrate the oldest brother.
Will I watch it? I’d be interested to know whether they will eventually leave the base and actually do some real combat, but it might be funnier just to leave them there. It looks like something I might watch every once in a while. Premieres November 8th at 9:30/8:30c.

Almost Human

What: Karl Urban (Éomer in LotR and McCoy in Stark Trek) stars as John Kennex, a cop in 2048. He awakes from a 17-month coma following an attack on the police department. He is paired with a android, as all cops are, but isn’t happy about it. This android, however, was designed with a greater emotional capacity than most, and had been previously decommissioned because of it.

Will I watch it? Remember how I said I wasn’t a big fan of cop shows? Well, like Fringe, this one has a secret ingredient: it’s in the future, and one of them is a robot! Okay, two secret ingredients. And, like Fringe, J.J. Abrams and J.H. Wyman have their paws all over it. That’s three secret ingredients! And did I mention Éomer? Rohiriiiiiim! Unfortunately, you’ll have to wait until November 4th (8/7c, occupying the slot Bones is in for the next few months).

Brooklyn Nine-Nine

What: Andy Sandberg gets his own TV show. Oops, never mind, the British beat us to it by a year. Also, the captain from Last Resort is… again the captain, but not of a submarine. It’s yet another cop show! A funny one, though, and five guesses as to which one plays the funny guy and which one plays the serious one.

Will I watch it? Fresh from my soreness of Last Resort being cancelled, the obvious thing to do is cling to whatever show resurrects its stellar cast, but no, I must resist. I’ve never put a comedy series on my must-watch-every-episode list, though I’m sure if I sit down for a rare episode, I won’t be able to help but be entertained. Premieres September 17th at 8:30/7:30c.

Sleepy Hollow

What: The man who killed (possibly even created) the Headless Horseman wakes up 250 years later (right ’bout now) and finds the world on the edge of Apocalypse. But there’s another twist! The Headless Horseman is one of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse. How do you like them apples?

Will I watch it? It actually looks pretty durn cool. Doesn’t have any cast or crew I immediately recognize, but I’ll certainly catch the pilot and see what there is to see. Premieres September 16th at 9/8c.

CBS

Hostages

An FBI agent and his associates hold the family of a surgeon hostage the day before she is supposed to operate on the president. They tell her she needs to make a “mistake” that kills the president or they’ll kill her family. Oh, and the dude is NOT Clive Owen, it turns out.

Will I watch it? Sound more like a movie premise than a TV series, so I’m skeptical of its longevity. Though, to be fair, I said the same thing about the aforementioned Prison Break, and it still delivered after the first season. But really, though, I totally thought that was Clive Owen. Premieres September 23rd at 10/9c.

The Crazy Ones

What: Robin Williams. Sarah the Vampire Slayer Michelle Gellar. Kelly Clarkson appears to be in the pilot, though I don’t know what she looks like and it could be an actress pretending to be her. It’s about a father-and-daughter team heading an ad agency that is not the one in Mad Men. Like Mad Men, it focuses on a different ad campaign for a different company each (or close to each) episode, the pilot focusing on making an ad for McDonald’s.

Will I watch it? Probably not, but it was worth a mention. Because Buffy. Premieres September 26th at 9/8c.

CW

The Tomorrow People

A guy who thought his father left when he was young finds out that nope! Dad had superpowers, and now so does he. As with any good story about people with superpowers, someone wants to capture or kill them, and Jacob from Lost is up to the job.

Will I watch it? But really, now, why is everyone so young in CW shows?? Can their 15-35-year-old demographic not identify with anyone older than themselves? Premieres October 9th at 9/8c.

I hope you’ve enjoyed this year’s TV Hunting, and as mentioned, due to the large crop of new shows premiering in the spring, I’ll be returning with another post in December!

